I am a big coffee drinker. BIG coffee drinker. I love Fivebucks. I call it that…because unless you get a tall (read: small) black cup of the day… you’re going to spend 5 dollars. My old favourite was a quad venti (read: large) vanilla latte. Four shots of espresso allows my body to basically do a standing burnout into the day.

Anyway… back on topic. I made the switch to brewing my own at home in the mornings to save money… so I don’t actually go into Fivebucks to buy a cup too often these days. Occasionally when I do… depending on how early it is, I will get a pastry.

Is it me… or do all their pastries taste like the same thing? They’re kiiiinda good, but not great. And when combined with 4 shots of espresso, it almost always makes me feel sick. But for some reason I always repeat this cycle. That coffee on it’s own doesn’t induce nausea… so it has to be a pastry ingredient.

This morning I had an apple fritter. This apple fritter:

It wasn’t very good. Tasted stale. In fact. I only ate about half and gave up on finding a good bite.
Meh… at least the coffee was good.